Select Page

Six Horn Quartets by Nikolai Tcherepnin

tcherepninThese are six nice horn quartets. The first quartet is "Nocturne" a beautiful choral. The second quartet, "Ancienne chanson allemande", is a melodic work featuring pairs of horns that echo each other. The third quartet, "La Chasse", is a lively work relating to the hunt. The fourth quartet, "Choeur Dansé", is a lively dance with a rhythmic accompaniment by two horns, the melody by another, and the fourth horn providing a bass line. Fun to play. The fifth quartet, "Un Chant Populaire Russe", starts with a melodic Russian folk theme by the first horn. The theme then goes to the third horn with harmony by the second horn. Each horn gets to play the theme with various harmony and counter melodies by the other horns. The sixth quartet, "Un Choral", is a choral with a lot of expression.

The fourth horn book also includes a full set of parts for euphonium.

Hover over an image to pause

Tcherepnin Quartets Book Set

Tcherepnin Quartets, Horn 1

Tcherepnin Quartets, Euphonium 4

Tcherepnin Quartets, Score

Watch and Listen to real perfomances

Very good video performance of Quartet 1, Quartet 3, Quartet 4 and Quartet 6
Performance of all six Quartets Click here to watch


Watch , Listen and Follow the Score - click on title


Purchase Music Here

PayPal accepts credit cards.

Item Contents Price Purchase
Tcherepnin Quartets
4 Parts Books: Horn 1, Horn 2, Horn 3, Horn 4/Euphonium 4